RSL & Services Clubs Association

The Board & CEO

All categories of membership are eligible to be represented on the Board of Directors of the Association. Member Clubs receive varying voting rights on a proportional basis relative to annual subscriptions.

The Board of seven (7) directors is elected by the membership from among delegates of Categories 1, 2 and 3 Member clubs:

  • Category One members have a minimum of four Directors elected to the Board;
  • Category Two members two Directors; and
  • Category Three members one Director.

The directors are elected for a period of two years, after which they are required to stand for re-election. The Board elects the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson. The Board meets bi-monthly.

Current Board Members:

  • Chairman, Dean Thomas (CEO, Canterbury-Hurlstone Park RSL Club).
  • Vice-Chairman, Bob Humphrys (Director, Coffs Harbour Ex-Services Club)
  • Directors - Andrew Bell (General Manager, Wagga RSL), Cameron Provost (CEO, Orange Ex-Services Club), John Millar (President, Dubbo RSL Memorial Club), Grant Easterby (CEO, Dee Why RSL) and Michael Brennan (General Manager, Woonona Bulli RSL).



Dean Thomas
Association Chairman

Chief Executive Officer, Dean Thomas commenced employment at Canterbury Hurlstone Park RSL Club - a name synonymous within the club industry for live entertainment and great food - in 1992 and has worked towards the Club’s growth through a succession of management positions, ranging from finance to operations and through to his current position.

He holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree in Accounting and Finance through the University of New South Wales, which he was completing when he first entered the club industry over 17 years ago.

Dean's passion for increasing understanding of the unique and vital role that clubs in general, and RSL Clubs in particular, play in our community. Dean has utilized his positions to advance the cause of charitable organizations, including the Variety Club of NSW and NETS (Newborn Emergency Transport Service).

Board Member since 2005
Director of KYLC Benevolent Fund

Bob Humphrys
Association Vice-Chairman

Bob has been a director of CEX Group at Coffs Harbour for 24 years and Vice president for 19 years.

He served in the Army with RAEME, with active service in South Vietnam after which he worked with the Civil Aviation Authority for 20 years. He is a past President of the Coffs Harbour Vietnam Veterans Association and was Pensions and Welfare Officer for 18 years. He is also Chairman of The Federation of Community Sporting & Workers Clubs.

Founding Director
Life Member

Andrew Bell
Association Director

General Manager of Wagga Wagga RSL Club, Andrew Bell, was appointed as a Director of the Association on 16 June 2005 to fill a casual vacancy and was Vice-Chairman from 2009 - 2016.

Andrew has worked in the industry for 25 years, commencing at Mathoura Bowling Club and then Deniliquin RSL as Deputy General Manager and later General Manager, before moving to Wagga RSL in 1997. He is also the Riverina State Councillor on ClubsNSW, Vice President of the Southern Sports Academy, a Director of the Wagga Wagga Business Chamber and a Director of the Operation CARE Benevolent Fund.

Board Member since 2005
Director of Operation CARE Benevolent Fund

Cameron Provost
Association Director

CEO, since 2008, of Orange Ex-Services Club, a leading club in regional NSW, with an asset base of over $40 million and 190 employees. Cameron has held various roles previously at Harbord Diggers, Dee Why and Belrose Bowling Clubs and Parramatta Leagues Club.

Cameron's studies include an ACCM, Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management and Certificate IV in Security & Risk Management. Cameron is a Certified Member of the Governance Institute of Australia and Chairman of the Board of Management Studies at the Club Managers Association. Cameron is an approved OLGR trainer, delivering the Mandatory Secretary Managers training course.

Board Member since 2014
Director of KYLC Benevolent Fund

John Millar
Association Director

John Millar was elected to the Board of Dubbo RSL Memorial Club in 1993, and has been Club President since 2002 and elected a Life Member this year. He was CEO of the Dubbo R.S.L. Aged Care Association for 16 years prior to retiring in 2010.

He has been Treasurer of the Dubbo RSL Sub Branch for the past 17 years, and Sub Branch Trustee since 1996.

John was a Director of Macquarie Credit Union for 9 years prior to resigning in 2013. He served in the Royal Australian Navy for nine years and saw active service in Far East Campaigns.

Board Member since 2009

Grant Easterby
Association Director

Grant is a 29 year veteran of the club industry and has been at the Dee Why RSL for the past 20 years, 18 of those as CEO. Born in Goulburn, he began his club career as a barman at Goulburn Workers Club, before moving to Central Coast Masonic Club as a trainee manager, followed by Toukley RSL Club as a Gaming Manager and later a stint at Tamworth Workmans' Club as Assistant General Manager.

Mr Easterby has steered Dee Why RSL to be a leader in income diversification, winning awards in club development, gaming, catering, corporate governance and financial management, to ultimately being named NSW Club of the Year in 2008 and again in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Board Member since 2010

Michael Brennan
Association Director

Michael is currently General Manager of Woonona Bulli RSL Club. He began his career in clubs 21 years ago and has worked in 3 of the largest clubs in the Illawarra. Starting at the bottom while studying a commerce degree at Wollongong University he has held positions in finance, gaming and operations before becoming General Manager in 2012.

He has 7 years of industry association experience as an active Director of Leagues Clubs Australia from 2005 to 2012 before joining the RSL Association.

He has remained committed to the industry because of its diversity and the continual challenges its faces to remain relevant to the communities that support us.

Appointed to the Board from 1st January 2017.

Garrie Gibson
Association CEO

From a diverse and broad career in public affairs, Garrie came to the CEO role after working as a government relations and issues management consultant for a variety of industry associations, major corporations and community organisations. He had previously been a consultant to the club industry, working with ClubsNSW, ClubsQld and Leagues Clubs Australia, as well as a large number of clubs across NSW and the ACT on government relations, marketing, membership development and campaign management and is currently a State Councillor of ClubsNSW.

CEO/Company Secretary since August 2014
CEO/Company Secretary of KYLC Benevolent Fund
CEO/Company Secretary of Operation CARE Benevolent Fund
CEO/Company Secretary of Veterans Benevolent Fund
Deputy Chairman, Gallipoli Scholarship Fund